Gearing Up For A New Work

Hey Everybody. I hope you all have been well. It’s been busy here for me, with the end of the school year in sight. Only a few more days, and my seniors will move from high school student to high school graduate. I’m excited for them, and very happy to have played a part in their lives.

That being said, I am equally looking forward to getting some writing done this coming summer. I have missed my story-telling, and eagerly anticipate a fun summer of writing (remember I said this when I am complaining later). I have been getting my timeline ready, and have been preparing a series of blog ideas that I want to share with you all. Tonight, I merely want to speak about ‘gearing up’ for a new write and all that it entails.

First, you have to have the right mindset. I like to be focused when I begin a new project. I don’t want other story ideas floating around in my mind. I like to be totally engaged with my present work, and not worrying about anything else. My story demands all of me, and I want to give it that. I take one project at a time, and bring it to completion.

Second, you need to spend a lot of time with that idea. Working through the timeline, character personas and plot twists are great ways to really ‘feel out’ the entirety of the story and the tale the characters want to share with the world. I have completed the timeline (or outline) for my latest work, and have spent a lot of hours with each character, so I have a good grasp of the narrative flow. Of course, it will most likely change along the way. We’ll see.

Third, it is always important not to become too attached to what the above ideas present, as it may change on you. I always give my characters a free hand, since, after all, it is their narrative. I like organization and structure, but I always know that spontaneity must also have place in the new work. I refrain from being too structured for fear of losing something essential from the tale.

Finally, I record all items and place them in a binder, “The Binder,” that will be used throughout the whole process. Every little note, idea, picture and suggestion goes into that binder, so it can be easily retrieved later. Organization is always key for any work of any length, especially a mammoth work.

As you can see, getting ready for a new project is no small task. It takes a lot of pre-planning on the part of the writer, and a lot of  thought. It is, however, so worth it, and I am very excited to begin this process soon.

As always, thanks for reading.

About Robert Oliver

I am a writer living and working in Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

