What the Heck Happened to Me?

Hey Everyone. It’s me, obviously. I suppose I should introduce myself to you once again, since it has been so long since I’ve been on this site. I’m extremely sorry for my lapse, but it has been with good reason. Since the publication of Autumn Leaves, I turned my attention  to another endeavor, one that took all my energies. I decided to become an educator. It has been an amazing choice,  but one that,  until recently,  has taken all my spare moments. Here, let me explain.

When I published Autumn Leaves and saw the return of my leisure time, I began to think of what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. It was sort of like a ‘mid-life crisis,’ only twenty years early. After heeding that small voice, I decided I wanted to follow through with my dream (and calling) to become a teacher.

Now, to be a teacher is no small feat, especially here in Florida. I began with the usual paperwork, and was instructed to pass the Social Sciences 6-12 (grade level) exam. If you know me well, you will know that I throw myself headlong into my studies. And as many of you have seen, I virtually disappeared while I prepared for the test. I had to study nothing short of 4000 years of human history (as well as Political Science, Economics, American History, Social Science, and Geography). The exam took over three hours, but I passed it on the first attempt during the summer, something I am told is a bit amazing. I studied for several months for it, but it paid off. I was then approved to teach social sciences in either middle of high school.

I then turned my attention to my career, and started submitting my resume (which I had to entirely redesign – teaching resumes are different from the corporate world). After much trial and error, I interview at Oak Ridge High School for a history position. This position came about from a customer I met at my place of employment who ‘hooked me up’ with Oak Ridge. She teaches business law there, and we became good friends. I did not receive the position, but they called me back a few days later when a new position unexpectedly opened, and the rest is history. I now teach high school economics to seniors.

I work in what is called a Title 1 school, which means the students mainly come from low income earning homes. I tell you plainly it has been the best decision of my life and I could not wish to be in a better school.

Okay, so now I’m a teacher. Time to get back to writing, right? Wrong. Now, I have several classes to take at night, a General Knowledge exam to pass, on-line courses to pass, and successive evaluations to endure before I complete my first year. I started preparing for the GK (General Knowledge) exam on September 3, and I took the last math exam three weeks ago. It’s been six months of continuous study, but I passed the test. I also, in the first semester, completed my courses and the on-line set. I was busy with all that, and,  you know, teaching my economics class, but it was worth it.

Teaching has been such an amazing experience for me. I have met so many wonderful young people, and have learned so much about them and even myself. Needless to say, I have made some very good relationships. And I’ve had a lot of fun along the way.

Alright! All of that to say, now I am finally back and working on my next WIP (work in progress). I have summer break approaching and I just completed my spring break. Now,  I am ready to return to the literary world with my latest work.

Expect one blog post a week, like normal, and please follow along on my facebook site for daily updates. Thank you all for your understanding and encouragement. It’s been a great year for me so far, and I’m so very excited to see what the future will bring.

 

About Robert Oliver

I am a writer living and working in Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

